Split to Layers

This script will separate each contiguous group of pixels to its own layer.

In the example below, the layer “Image” was split into 3 separate layers.

split

Download “Split to Layers” script

20 Responses to “Split to Layers”

  1. Indo Says:

    Simply brilliant. Big thanks. I can’t wait to when there are three times as many scripts!

  2. The Insaint Says:

    Nice, but it throws an error after the dialog -> “the object current document is not currently availabel”
    Not useable on CS6

    • David Jensen Says:

      I created and tested it with Photoshop CS6, Standard and Extended, on both OSX and Windows. Can you give me any other info? Can you get it to work on something simple?

      Sometimes there is some initial state I didn’t anticipate, like the layer is locked, a path is active, quick mask mode is on, color mode is set to indexed, etc. (It shouldn’t fail in any of those specific cases, though)

      • The Insaint Says:

        Well … actually there isn’t any more info. :(
        I create a document, 500x500px, painting some strokes, then call the script. It starts, but soon, like after the first extraction, it stops with an error:
        Error: General Photoshop error occurred. This functionality may not be available in this version of Photoshop. – The object “current document” is not currently available.

        I tried on the locked background, I tried it on a transparent layer.
        Photoshop CS6 (13.0) on Win7 64Bit

        • David Jensen Says:

          Have you updated to 13.0.1.1? I don’t know if that will help.
          If that isn’t it, I really don’t know. There have been a few hundred downloads of the script, and this is the first I’ve heard of any issues.

        • David Jensen Says:

          I just tested it on a copy of PS CS6 with no updates and it worked fine. Sorry, I really don’t know why it isn’t working for you :-/

    • ABER Says:

      make sure to unlock the layer that you want to split buddies
      it works!
      :)

  3. The Insaint Says:

    I haven’t updated PS, as I’m one of those many out there, where the updates don’t work/install (I’m no Adobe Cloud Member).
    Too bad, looks like I have to let this slip. :(
    Thanks anyway for the reply.

  4. The Insaint Says:

    Update: With help from Adobe Support, I was able to update to 13.1.2. Now the script works as expected.
    Great job.

  5. Alexander Says:

    This script grabs only full visibility pixels (when tolerance = 0)…
    How to remake it the script grabs no-full visibility pixels too (when tolerance = 0)?
    Answer please.

  6. Valerie Foster Says:

    This is fantastic. If I were able to append the filename with sequential letters of the alphabet, it would be perfect for my needs. Please stay in touch if you’re able to make these changes, I’ll happily come back and donate!!

  7. ABER Says:

    make sure to unlock the layer that you want to split buddies
    it works!
    :)

  8. Bernd.Kay Says:

    Works like a charm.

    One thing I miss so.. I often use complex forms imported from illustrator. If I split these with the script, they lose there form tag and get rastered. Any chance to keep them as vectors?.

    Right now I do it by hand. Select form with pressed Alt-Key, then new layer with Strg+Alt+J Keys..

    ANyway thanks alot! :-)

  9. Federico Says:

    Awesome, thanks! I wish this were available for Fireworks or Pixelmator, though.

  10. vik Says:

    hi I got Error: General Photoshop error occurred. This functionality may not be available in this version of Photoshop. – The command “Expand” is not currently available.

    what should I do?

  11. Konstantin Says:

    Thank you SO SO SO much! Works like a charm!

  12. GrutBrushes Says:

    What a great script! Thank you so much. If anyone is wondering, yes, it works perfectly in Photoshop CC 2014 Win 8.1 (select File->Scripts->Browse)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

